Home > Remote Control > Single Ladies is Sex and a Southern City

Single Ladies is Sex and a Southern City

When VH1 recently announced that their new programming would have less of an emphasis on music, many were surprised, because they didn’t know VH1 still played music. Their most recent change is toward scripted programming, whereas reality series and movies unrelated to music had made up the bulk of their schedule. The first scripted drama for VH1, which will carry the flag for the channel’s new emphasis, is Single Ladies, starring Stacey Dash of Clueless fame.

To VH1, Single Ladies can still be considered musical programming because it’s named after a Beyonce song. This new show takes television in a bold new direction by telling the heretofore unseen story of a small group of single ladies trying to find love and sex in a big city. Whoa there, you might be thinking, that’s not new. It’s the plot of Sex and the City. That’s where you would be wrong. This new show is set in Atlanta, which is a totally different city. Also, the show is more ethnic (because it’s in Atlanta). Feel silly now, don’t you?

I’ve only seen part of one episode and I only watched that because I had crashed on the couch and wanted to stare at anything that came on my TV screen. Having seen almost half of an entire episode, I feel that I can accurately judge the show, though. That makes me more qualified than a music reviewer for Blender Magazine.

My main problem with Single Ladies is the casting. The main character is played by Stacey Dash, who just so happens to be one of the most beautiful women on this or any planet. How am I supposed to believe that Dash has a hard time getting men or convincing men to commit to her? Sex and the City didn’t have this problem. Kim Cattrall is old and haggard, Cynthia Nixon looks like Calista Flockhart after conquering anorexia, Kristin Davis is average looking and Sarah Jessica Parker looks like a horse. I can buy their men problems, but Stacey Dash having trouble getting men is like Albert Pujols having to audition for a roster spot in Spring Training.

Still, I watched almost half of an entire episode because Dash was onscreen. It didn’t matter if the plot was believable because I was too busy thinking mmm, Stacey Dash… Unfortunately, casting isn’t the big problem with the show. That would be the writing. When you put so much publicity into the fact that you have a new scripted series, you might want to make sure the scripts are actually good. Based on the dialogue I saw, it’s not. Let me put it this way: In the opening scene of this series, which is named after a Beyonce song, Dash quotes that same song when yelling at her boyfriend. “If you like it, then put a ring on it,” she says. Yup, it’s that bad, but at least Stacey Dash is working again. Has anyone seen Alicia Silverstone lately?

One last time: Mmm…Stacey Dash

  1. June 16, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    I agree with you somewhat. I LOVE Stacey Dash and she’s one of the reasons I continue to watch, however, just because you’re beautiful doesn’t necessarily mean you have guys knocking down your door…quality men at that, which is what her character says she’s looking for. But the acting is horrible, so much so, that its funny. But you’re right with the Beyonce references…ironic thing is Beyonce is married, lol.
    atldailydose.wordpress.com

    • June 16, 2011 at 9:04 pm

      You make a good point. Maybe I was exaggerating too much on that. I can understand how the guys beating down her door maybe aren’t of the best quality. Since I’m such a great guy myself, I sometimes forget that there are a lot of creeps out there (kidding). Now, is it the acting that is the problem or is it the script? I mean, how many actors can turn those lines into good scenes?

      Thanks for your input!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

